Posted by: Matt Kelley | 25 March 2009

DK Update!

Hey there,

In just a few hours my friend Uikwon and I will take off for a 5-day trip along Korea’s Namhae (남해), or southern coast. After some delicious dinner in Jeonju, we’ll make our way from Mokpo, in the southwest to Busan and Ulsan in the southeast. I look forward to sharing our stories and photos soon!

I’ve got some news for Discovering Korea’s radio listeners. As of mid-April, DK’s run on KBS World Radio will come to an end. The good news for our listeners is that KBS is putting major resources into launching a new travel show that will be translated into 11 languages! The bad news is that my Korean is too shoddy to be the primary writer.

However, As the DK radio show ends, the blog version will continue, and I’ve started recording a new show called “Seoul Scene.” It’s kind of like a DK just for Korea’s capital. My recent post on Edae will give you an idea. Anyway, I hope you’ll listen to it and let me know what you think.

Finally, tomorrow we’ll unveil a new segment on here called “Ask Matt.” Got a question about travel and culture in Korea? Let me know! Periodically I’ll research your questions and post the answers.

OK, I think that’s it for now. I hope you’re all doing well and please keep your comments coming! I’ll be back in a few days.

Best,
Matt

Responses

  1. Hi there,
    Great to hear you’re covering Namhae. Hope you can post pics of this under-rated place esp of the village of Daraengi and Boriam. When I visited this hermitage, I was surprised at the number of devotees that visited the place. Stayed there overnight and it was very interesting to observe how the ajummas do the 103 prostrations. Amazed myself that I was able to follow them.
    Couldn’t get good shots as misty moisty weather clouded the place. Hope Nature will be more kindly towards you. Looking forward to your postings about this beautiful and panoramic part of SK.

  2. Hello Selene,
    Thanks for the tip and your informative note! I’ve heard about Daraengi before, but this was the first time for Boriam Hermitage. My friend and I only had 4 days on our last trip so we couldn’t do nearly as much as I would have liked, but I’ll definitely be putting these two places on my itinerary. If anyone else wants to check out photos, go to naver.com and copy and paste the following Korean text: 보리암 or 다랭이마을. Thanks again!

    Best, Matt


Leave a Reply

Categories

